Interreg is one of the key instruments of the European Union (EU) supporting cooperation across borders through project funding. Its aim is to jointly tackle common challenges and find shared solutions in fields such as health, environment, research, education, transport, sustainable energy and more.


European Cross-border cooperation supports cooperation between NUTS II regions from at least two different Member States lying directly on the borders or adjacent to them. It aims to tackle common challenges identified jointly in the border regions and to exploit the untapped growth potential in border areas, while enhancing the cooperation process for the purposes of the overall harmonious development of the Union.  

With a budget of €6.7 billion, the 73 cross-border cooepration programmes for 2021-2027 aim to boost cooperation actions across borders between neighbouring regions and countries. These cross-border programmes are made up of 49 internal programmes, 24 external (10 IPA and 14 NEXT) and the PEACE+ programme.

Link to Cooperation Programmes 2021-2027


Transnational cooperation involves regions from several countries of the EU forming bigger areas. It aims to promote better cooperation and regional development within the Union by joint approach to tackle common issues. Interreg B supports a wide range of project investment related to innovation, environment, accessiblity, telecommunications and urban development. 

  • 14 transnational cooperation programmes will continue to support cooperation activities at larger scale in Europe and beyond. 

  • 4 transnational programmes, namely Interreg Baltic Sea Region, Interreg Danube Region, Interreg IPA Adrion and Interreg Alpine Space programme will directly support the Macro Regional Strategies covering their geographical area. 80% of their thematic concentration should be aligned with a Macro Regional Strategy, 

  • Transnational programmes linked to Sea Basin Strategies, like Interreg Atlantic Area or Interreg NEXT Black Sea Basin also apply the thematic concentration 

Transnational programmes can benefit from additional funding from ERDF, IPA or NDICI.


The interregional cooperation strand aims at boosting the effectiveness of cohesion policy by promoting exchange of experiences, innovative approaches and capacity building between regions. 

For the period 2021-2027, four interregional cooperation programmes will continue: 

Allocation for this strand amounts to more than EUR 550 million. 

The strand C programmes cover all 27 EU member states. Norway and Switzerland will continue to be part of the programmes, as for 2014-2020, with their own funds. 

Moreover, URBACT will cover 5 IPA beneficiary countries (Serbia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Albania). ESPON will, next to Norway and Switzerland, include Lichtenstein and Iceland.


  • With the new regulation 2021-2027, the specificities of the Outermost regions are recognised trough a specific strand (Strand D) 
  • It helps those regions to cooperate with neighbouring countries and territories in the most efficient and simple way. 
  • Calls for proposals can be launched for combined funding under the ERDF, the Neighbourhood, Development and International Cooperation Instrument (NDICI) established by Regulation (EU ) 2021/947 of the European Parliament and of the Council. 

Strand D concerns 4 geographical areas: 

  • Amazonia, Caribbean, 

  • Middle Atlantic/Gulf of Guinea (MAC), 

  • Indian Ocean, 

  • Mozambique Channel. 

The financial amounts represent 3.5% of the INTERREG amount or over EUR 280 million. 



Do you need help with EU funding?

Increase your chances - contact us.

Contact us